More Jazz Quotes!

“It doesn’t matter all that much. It’s just that when you’re playing, Stephane, you’ve got both Chaput and me backing you, but when I’m soloing I’ve only got one guitar behind me!” – Django Reinhardt

“I’m beginning to understand myself. But it would have been great to be able to understand myself when I was 20 rather than when I was 82.” – Dave Brubeck

“I don’t like rap music at all. I don’t think it’s music. It’s just a beat and rapping.” – Nina Simone

“You’ve got to learn your instrument. Then, you practice, practice, practice. And then, when you finally get up there on the bandstand, forget all that and just wail.” – Charlie Parker

“Some people try to get very philosophical and cerebral about what they’re trying to say with jazz. You don’t need any prologues, you just play.” – Oscar Peterson

“Wrong is right.” – Thelonious Monk

“When I first came to New York everybody on the scene would treat me like I could play, but I couldn’t.” -Wynton Marsalis

“Hot can be cool, and cool can be hot, and each can be both. But hot or cool, man, jazz is jazz.” – Louis Armstrong

Quotes courtesy of http://www.jazzquotations.com

Leave a Reply

